Tender Hooks

tumblr_lnnitslUhU1qh262so1_400Tender hooks

Tender are the hooks of what might have been
thus with fond despair I do regale in them

Splendor of sadness and lighthearted regret
are the sustenance of hearts thus beset

Might the trappings of hope been false with allure
I grieve them with grace that I may endure

Thus I pray fair the imminence of death
shall spare you the pain of my dying breath

and think of me, as I thought of you when
Tender were the hooks of what might have been.

Charles Coakley Simpson

One response

  1. Reblogged this on Monk's Catacomb.

    Liked by 1 person

    December 10, 2012 at 3:30 pm

Leave a Reply

