Nesting

tumblr_n8pf3zzZdT1rcn3dyo1_500

 

Nesting

We carve a nest in the wheat behind your parent’s house and lay there at dusk waiting for the stars to fill the indigo void left by the setting sun speaking in half-whispers the tender sincerity of your words filling my head with the thought of what it would be like to kiss you pulling your hair gently behind your ear the Harvest moon shining softly on the nape of your neck your mother calling out for us in the darkness the cicadas singing their summer song from the shadows of the trees which line the river of my no return.

Charles Coakley Simpson

7 responses

  1. why is it when I read your words…you always take me visually to places I remember…I sit and smile when I read…wishing..daydreaming …thank you for that

    Liked by 1 person

    April 22, 2015 at 2:09 am

  2. thefeatheredsleep

    It’s sometimes painful to read you because you’re so good, you fill space with images, seemingly without effort. I’m so glad to read you (sometimes thru gnashing teeth)

    Liked by 1 person

    February 25, 2016 at 5:19 pm

  3. Dewey Simon's

    Coke this is Dewey Keep On Keepin On

    Liked by 1 person

    June 21, 2016 at 10:42 pm

  4. I am sold. Great writing. Best blog I have discovered in a while.

    Liked by 1 person

    September 12, 2016 at 6:10 pm

    • Thank you. If I could only get back to writing again, but I simply can’t seem to get inspired about it anymore. But thank you. Very much.

      Like

      September 12, 2016 at 6:42 pm

  5. Oh my! What a journey into memory lanes here.

    Liked by 1 person

    June 2, 2017 at 2:16 pm

    • Thank you.

      I thought I had ‘likes” enabled on comments on this blog, it’s been so long…..

      That was my one-time experiment with prose poetry, or what I would call–a run on sentence. Strangely, or surprisingly, flatteringly, I found that someone had created an image of the text and posted it on Pinterest, to my surprise.

      I will see if I can find that toggle to turn on ‘likes’ for comments now.

      It’s been a long time since I’ve been active on this thing.

      Liked by 1 person

      June 2, 2017 at 2:24 pm

Leave a Reply

